Rysanov, Tomter, Gallardo...

2019. July 21.19:30

Liszt Academy, Solti Hall

Ticket prices: 4000 HUF, Students/Pensioners: 2000 HUF. 25% discount for two or three tickets, 50% discount for four or more tickets

Buy tickets

Máté Balogh: TRIOverture - premiere
Maxim Rysanov (viola), Dóra Kokas (cello), José Gallardo (piano)
Brahms: Clarinet Trio in A minor, Op. 114
Maxim Rysanov (viola), Dóra Kokas (cello), José Gallardo (piano)

While Mozart’s Piano Quartet in E flat major is a fundamental part of the chamber music repertoire, Brahms’s Trio faded into obscurity despite its ingenuity, besides his Clarinet Quintet in B minor, which followed shortly thereafter. Although the Trio in A minor originally featured the clarinet, the cello and the piano, Brahms also authorised all future performers to play the woodwind part on a viola. The same formation inspired Máté Balogh to compose the introductory piece commissioned by Festival Academy. The Artisjus and Junior Prima Awards-winning composer commented on his work with the following words: „My composition TRIOverture must be preceded Brahms’s Trio in A minor, op. 114 without any kind of break or intercession. The conclusion of my piece is Brahms’s Trio itself in the form of a paraphrase: my composition offers an overture to Brahms’s work. My hope and intention is that the audience interpret the two as a formidable union composed jointly by Brahms and me.”

Fesztivalakademia.hu uses cookies for analysis and displaying personalized content and ads. By browsing our site you accept the use of cookies. Read more